IB Diploma Program

Main content

The IB Diploma Program (DP) is a challenging two-year curriculum, primarily aimed at students aged 16 to 19 (Grades 11 and 12). It leads to a qualification that is widely recognized by the world’s leading universities. Research suggests that there are many benefits to choosing the DP. The programme aims to develop students who have excellent breadth and depth of knowledge – students who flourish physically, intellectually, emotionally and ethically.

IB General Regulations

IB Program Brochure

TKS IB Handbook

The IB Diploma Program (DP)

The DP curriculum is made up of six subject groups and the DP core. 
The six subject groups are: Studies in Language & Literature, Language Acquisition, Individuals & Societies, Sciences, Mathematics and The Arts.
The DP core comprises:

The Theory of Knowledge (TOK)

Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS)

The Extended Essay (EE)

Through the DP core, students reflect on the nature of knowledge, independent research, and undertake a project that often involves community service.  The IB assesses students’ work as direct evidence of achievement against the stated goals of the Diploma Programme (DP) courses.

Diploma Learners are global citizens

DP students and teachers share how the program develops international-mindedness, which allows them to understand multiple perspectives and feel part of a global community.

Choosing IB Subjects

For the IB Diploma Program students must choose one subject from each of five groups (1 to 5), to ensure breadth of knowledge and understanding in their best language, additional language(s), the social sciences, the experimental sciences, and mathematics. Students may choose either an arts subject from group 6, or a second subject from groups 1 to 5.

At least three and not more than four subjects are taken at higher level (240 teaching hours), while the other subjects are taken at standard level (150 teaching hours).

Students must study at least one subject from group 1.

  • Language A: Literature
    • English
  • Language A: Language and Literature
    • English
    • Arabic
  • Language A: Literature - Self Taught

Students must study at least one subject from group 2.

  • Language B
    • English
    • French
    • Arabic
  • Language Ab Initio
    • French
    • Arabic
    • Spanish

Students must study at least one subject from group 3.

  • History
  • Economics
  • Environmental Systems and Societies


Students must study at least one subject from group 4.

  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Design Technology
  • Physics
  • Environmental Systems and Societies

Students must study at least one subject from group 5.

  • Mathematics Higher Level
  • Mathematics Standard Level
  • Mathematical Studies Standard Level
  • Mathematics Analysis and Approaches
  • Mathematics Applications and Interpretations

Alongside these five courses in groups 1 - 5, a student can choose to study a group 6 subject, or to study an additional subject from groups 1 – 5.

  • Music
  • Visual Arts
  • Theater

In addition, The Diploma Program features the three core elements that broaden students’ educational experience and challenge them to apply their knowledge and skills.

The core of the program consists of three elements:

  • Extended Essay (EE)
  • Theory of Knowledge (TOK)
  • Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS)
Explore more
School Life